Reported on Mashable today, a malware attack under the moniker “hilarious video” is appearing on walls on Facebook.
Once clicked, it prompts you to download and install a video player that contains the malware.
The fear also resides in the fact it does a few steps anyone should immediately take note of:
- It prompts for your Facebook login information
- It installs an application not only in Facebook but on your local machine
- It asks for your home address in the guise of a contest
Anything asking for your home address should be treated as suspect. This is something to be passed on to kids and co-workers.
If you have already mistakenly clicked on this and installed the application, update your anti-virus software and run both that and anti-malware software to help get rid of it. Also, try and uninstall the program if it allows you.